Free shipping


Your Cart is Empty

Pink Floyd: Pigs Might Fly- the Inside Story

Interest in Pink Floyd remains as intense as ever even 40 years after the release of Dark Side of the Moon, with lavish box-sets collecting demos and out-takes, and Roger Waters’ world tours of The Wall playing to packed stadiums. Now, Mark Blake’s superbly comprehensive and engrossing history of the group, rightly acclaimed as the definitive book on the band, has been fully revised and extended with new interviews to bring the story up to date with the recent appearances of David Gilmour and Nick Mason with Roger Waters at a London date on his The Wall tour. Review ‘A biography rich in anecdotal detail’ ( Classic Rock) 'Blake’s account, newly updated, may well be definitive.... It’s a fascinating tale of destructive egos.’ ( Sun) ‘Such is Blake’s achievement in leaving no band affiliate’s tale untold the author virtually redefines the term ‘definitive biography.’ ( Mojo) 'Dutiful and thorough... paints a picture of a generation, helps us in some way towards understanding the decline and enigma of Syd Barrett, and gives us a picture of a band which, although trapped by their own devices into becoming the most lumbering of rock behemoths, at least were one of the few of their vintage who carried on giving a s***. We also get a portrait of one of rock’s great Difficult Characters (Waters) - as well as one of its most decent and generous (Gilmour). And a kid of happy ending.’ (Nicholas Lezard Guardian) 'The definitive account of one of Britain's best-loved bands.' ( Choice) 'No fan will feel short-changed by the welter of detail.' ( Independent) ‘A superb, incredibly detailed, and essential look at the band’s history - an indispensable addition to your bookshelves.’ ( Brain Damage - Pink Floyd news) ‘Mark Blake brings Floydology into the 21st Century with this handsomely produced volume...’ ( The Sunday Telegraph) ‘A detailed, orderly, first-rate read...’ ( Q) ‘Thorough and well-researched... Lots of new material...’ ( Observer) Author Bio MARK BLAKE has been writing about popular music and culture since 1989. A former Assistant Editor of Q magazine and regular contributor to Mojo, he is also the author of Is This The Real Life: The Untold Story Of Queen, Stone Me: The Wit & Wisdom Of Keith Richards and the editor of Dylan: Visions, Portraits & Back Pages. More info at
Product Overview
ISBN 9781781310571
Publisher smeikalbooks
Weight 0.0 lb