Stasi Child: A Chilling Cold War Thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)

Stasi Child: A Chilling Cold War Thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)

Regular price £6.60 Sale

  • ISBN: 9781785770067
  • Publisher: twenty7
  • Pages: 416
  • Dimensions (H x W x L):
The Top 5 eBook Bestseller - for fans of Child 44 and The Lives of Others East Berlin, 1975 When Oberleutnant Karin Muller is called to investigate a teenage girl's body at the foot of the Wall, she imagines she's seen it all before. But when she arrives she realises this is a death like no other. It seems the girl was trying to escape - but from the West. Muller is a member of the People's Police, but in East Germany her power only stretches so far. The Stasi want her to discover the identity of the girl, but assure her the case is otherwise closed - and strongly discourage her from asking questions. The evidence doesn't add up, and it soon becomes clear the crime scene has been staged. But this is not a regime that tolerates a curious mind, and Muller doesn't realise that the trail she's following will lead her dangerously close to home ...Stasi Child is David Young's brilliant and page-turning debut novel. PRAISE FOR STASI CHILD Times Crime Book of the Month Telegraph Pick of the Week 'Chilling' Daily Telegraph 'Extremely engaging' Sunday Express 'Can't get enough cold-war Germany after Deutschland 83? This is your latest reading companion' Shortlist 'Superb. A thrilling Cold War mystery that reminded me of Robert Harris at his best.' - Mason Cross, author of The Samaritan. 'Deft, assured storytelling, a compelling new detective and a fascinating setting - I was up late to finish it!' - Gilly Macmillan, author of Burnt Paper Sky 'One of the best reads I've had in ages. With its masterful intertwining of dual storylines and its stark portrayal of life behind the Berlin Wall, this is a cracking debut.' - David Jackson, bestselling author of Cry Baby